Team Tournament

The Team tournament will be arranged on 2019-08-15, the day before the start of ESC/WOSC. It is open to teams of 3 players. These teams may be national teams, with 3 players from the same country, or a mix of players who decide to play together.

The entry fee has to be paid at the check-in. To register a team, the captain must complete a form with the name of the team and the three team members and submit it to the team check-in. If you do not have a team yet, you need to search for teammates on your own. In this case, you should be at the venue early.

The team tournament consists of four rounds. Since we will have more than 16 teams, we have to play Mac-Mahon system with two groups. The grouping is based on the ELO average of the teams. For players without ELO number, this is estimated by the tournament management.

The thinking time is 30 mins + 30 sec byo-yomi and all games will be rated.

Team “boards” will be ordered according to ELO ranking on the day of the tournament. The highest-ranking player will be designated as Board 1, the second highest as Board 2, and the third as Board 3. No change of order or player replacement can be made once the tournament has been started.

Furigoma is performed by the highest ranking of the Board 1 opponents. Based on the result, sente and gote are defined as follows: if Board 1 is sente, then Board 2 is gote and Board 3 is sente. If Board 1 is gote, then 2 is sente and 3 is gote.

Placement criteria are used in the following order:

  • Number of team points (including MM point)
  • Number of board points
  • Sum of the number of team points (including MM point) of the opponents (SOS)
  • If no decision can be made with these criteria, the team with the youngest player wins.

Blitz Tournament

The format of the tournament is 7 rounds of 8 minutes with sudden death (no byo-yomi).
Pairings are to be determined using the Swiss System.


  • 9 rounds Mac-Mahon (5 or 6 groups)
  • 45 min + 40 sec byoyomi thinking time.
  • If you cannot play all 9 rounds, no problem. Make sure you check in or check out in the round before, no later than two hours after the start of this round.


The ESC is part of the WOSC. The 32 highest rated European players competing in the ESC/WOSC event according to FESA rating list will play ESC for the title of European champion. The ESC tournament uses a direct elimination system (5 rounds). You can only join if you are able to play all 5 rounds. To be be eligible to take part in the ESC, a player must have an established ELO rating recorded in the Pan-Atlantic Shogi ELO system, must be a citizen of a country which is a member state of the Council of Europe, or which has a representative shogi organization which is a voting or observing member of FESA, must have played at least 1 ELO-rated tournament in the 2 years preceding the ESC/WOSC.
The reference used to determine the 32 highest rated players is the most recently published Pan-Atlantic Shogi ELO system list at the date of the tournament. Players will be allocated to the tournament on a highest rating first basis. If 2 players have the same ELO, their allocation will be determined by a draw. This may include determination of whether players are allocated to place 32 or are immediately allocated to the 1st round of the WOSC tournament.

Once the ESC places are allocated, pairings are determined using a fixed elimination system according to the ELO ranking:

The rounds of the ESC are played in parallel to the 5 first rounds of the WOSC.
Players eliminated from ESC are immediately included in the WOSC players list to take part in the following round. Points earned in the ESC are carried into the WOSC under the Mac-Mahon system. ESC players will be allocated the points of the Mac-Mahon group corresponding to their ELO rating, except that players who play in round two of the ESC are given points corresponding to the top group of the WOSC.

Referee committee

In case of any dispute about a game during the tournament, players shall pause the clock and contact a referee. Referee committee consists of three members:
Lukas Vyletel – Slovakia
Thomas Pfaffel – Austria
Filip Marek – Czech Republic